it’s my birthday bitches!

yeah! i’m having a GREAT day. i just ordered some birthday thai food and it’s on its way.  i also resigned today! holla! it went kinda like this:
me: um, speaking of rostering, we need to chat.
micromanager: okay. gawd, please tell me you’re not resigning.
me: i’m resigning.
micromanager: shit.

and that’s it. it was done. of course it went longer than that. she had to go through her stages of grief – denial, anger, sadness, acceptance – all while being a complete douchbag. she asked me why i was leaving. what’s the opposite of waxing lyrical? whatever it is, i did it. about my job. about my company. about everything i hated (except her. i mean, come on, i’m not a complete asshole). and you want to know what? she didn’t have a thing to say to the contrary because she knew i was right!

when i got back to my desk, i figured i had to write a formal resignation letter. i figured an email would suffice. it went something like this:
“dear micromanager,
re my resignation. last day will be 1 march.
bst rgds,
me”
she replied back “thanks” so i suppose that’ll do. i couldn’t be bothered.

i thought for sure micromanager wouldn’t want to take me out for a birthday lunch but i was wrong. at noon we shuffled off to a mexican restaurant to make nice talk with each other for an hour or so. the food couldn’t come fast enough. there were a lot of awkward silences. i thought about sprinkling the green hot sauce in my eyes to end my misery.

i snuck out of the office at 3.45 while micromanager was on a call.  i left a post it note on her desk saying i’d see her tomorrow with a happy face. hee hee. and birthday pressies! the brit got me the dressmakers dummy, the force unleashed II (star wars) for the wii, a CD (the roots) and he says there’s more to come if the australian post can get their act together! i got a DVD and itunes vouchers from the other asian and the kiwi. i got birthday cards from the parentals and in-laws, the kind with glitter all over it and a mushy poem inside about how great i am. it’s been a good birthday so far!

2 thoughts on “it’s my birthday bitches!

  1. Hope you had a great birthday. Happy Birthday…

    All together now….

    You , you got what i neeeedddd…. and you say he just a friend ….

Leave a Reply

